Flat roof options

Since no roofing system is suitable for all buildings and all needs, it is advisable to hire an expert to evaluate all the issues. The list below summarizes the major recognized systems available and proven in Quebec.

See also below our COMPARATIVE TABLE of major conventional flat roof systems.

TPO (thermoplastic polyolefin)

Typically a white membrane, delivered in 5 to 12 feet (3.66 meters) wide rolls and polyester reinforced, which allows it to be mechanically secured to the roof at a low cost. Durable, attractive and very reflective, it is more and more popular for basin-type roofs and very low slope roofs. Its junctions are welded with very hot air.

varimat

SBS modified bitumen

Bitumen membrane modified with polymers to improve its properties. Reliable, attractive and very popular in Canada. The granulated finish available in a wide color palette serves to protect bitumen against UV rays. Installed in two layers which are fused with torches, the first layer is glued or mechanically fixed to the roof.

chalumeau

EPDM (synthetic rubber)

Black or white membrane known for its unmatched durability in the industry. However, glued joints require great care to last as long as the membrane itself. The white version must be completely glued, while the black can also be ballasted. The black reinforced version can be either mechanically fixed or glued.

EPDM_blanc

Asphalt and gravel (built-up roof)

Conventional coating consisting of multiple layers of roof felts laminated together with bitumen. A final layer of gravel is spread on the surface to protect the bitumen from the sun, sudden temperature changes and hail impacts. This system is now seldom used on large surfaces and is losing popularity since some municipal by-laws even prohibit its installation.

asphalte

PVC (Polyvinyl chloride)

Membrane with thermoplastic properties very similar to the membrane TPOAesthetic and durable, despite its poor environmental reputation. Its junctions are welded in the same way as the membrane TPO.

pvc

Coatings and other flat roofing systems

Polymers, bitumen, silicone, acrylic, liquid rubber, fiberglass, polyurea, etc. Many products are offered on the market but very few are thoroughly tested and standardized by the industry. Few specialized labor and installation standards brings the risk of losing local expertise by using a method which is too marginal.

Comparative table of major flat roofing options

This table shows an overall view presented for information purposes only. Endless variables can substantially modify the information it contains, use with caution and discernment.

ROOFING TYPEAVERAGE PRODUCT LIFE (1)ANNUAL COST (2)PURCHASE PRICE (2)RELIABILITY (3)VERSATILITY (4)REFLECTIVITY (5)ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY (6)
TPO Membranegoodvery lowlowaveragegoodvery goodvery good
Modified bitumen membrane (elastomer)goodaveragehighreliablevery goodaveragelow
EPDM Membranegood (1)lowhighaveragegoodgoodgood
Built-up roof (asphalt and gravel)lowhighlowvery reliablelowlowvery low
PVC Membranegoodlowaverageaveragegoodvery goodlow
  1. Product life is not only based on the sustainability of the material itself but also on its seams, for example EPDM membrane itself is very durable but its glued joints last often less than with other systems..
  2. Cost classification is based on a small area (less than 200 square meters or 2000 square feet). Beyond that, mechanically attached systems become more and more economical, even compared to ballasted systems.
  3. Reliability includes resistance to fire, impacts, punctures, tears and natural elements.
  4. Versatility considers ease of installation in all circumstances and the ease of modification and repair.
  5. Reflectivity depends largely on the effectiveness of the system to self-clean.
  6. CClassification of the ecological value of a system is not only based on its recyclability since some materials are recyclable but not recycled, such as elastomer in Quebec. This value is greatly affected by sustainability but also by the amount of energy required in the material’s life cycle.

Options pour toit plat

Comme aucun système de couverture ne convient à tous les bâtiments et à tous les besoins, il est conseillé de faire appel à un expert pour en évaluer tous les enjeux. La liste ci-dessous résume les principaux systèmes reconnus, disponibles et éprouvés au Québec.

Voir aussi plus bas notre TABLEAU COMPARATIF des principaux systèmes pour toit plat

TPO (Thermoplastique polyoléfine)

Membrane typiquement blanche, en rouleaux de 5 à 12 pieds (3,66 mètres) de largeur et renforcée de polyester, ce qui lui permet d’être fixée mécaniquement au toit à faible coût. Durable, esthétique et très réflective, de plus en plus populaire pour les toitures de type bassin et à très faible pente. Ses jonctions sont fusionnées avec de l’air très chaud.

toitures commerciales et industrielles

Bitume élastomère SBS

Membrane bitumineuse modifiée par des polymères pour améliorer ses propriétés. Robuste, esthétique et très populaire au Canada. Le fini granulé, offert dans une large palette de couleurs, sert de protection au bitume contre les rayons UV. Les deux couches de membrane sont fusionnées à l’aide de chalumeaux, la première étant collée ou fixée mécaniquement au toit.

toitures commerciales et industrielles

EPDM (caoutchouc synthétique)

Membrane blanche ou noire d’une durabilité inégalée dans l’industrie. Les jonctions collées nécessitent par contre une très grande minutie pour assurer une durée égale à celle de la membrane. La version blanche doit être collée, tandis que la noire peut être collée, lestée ou dans sa version avec renfort, fixée mécaniquement.

EPDM_blanc

Asphalte et gravier (multicouche)

Revêtement dit conventionnel, constitué de plusieurs épaisseurs de papier feutre noyées dans l’asphalte liquide. Une couche de gravier étendue à sa surface protège ce système des rayons UV, des écarts brusques de température et de la grêle. Ce système n’est pratiquement plus utilisé sur les grandes surfaces et est en perte de popularité, quelques règlements municipaux commençant même à l’interdire.

toitures commerciales et industrielles

PVC (Polychlorure de vinyle)

Membrane aux propriétés thermoplastiques très semblables à la membrane TPO. Esthétique et durable, malgré sa mauvaise réputation environnementale. Ses jonctions sont fusionnées de la même façon que la membrane TPO.

toitures commerciales et industrielles

Enduits et autres types de recouvrement

Polymères, bitume, silicone, acrylique, caoutchouc liquide, fibre de verre, polyuréa, etc. De nombreux produits sont offerts sur le marché mais très peu sont testés en profondeur et normalisés par l’industrie. Aussi, très peu de main d’œuvre spécialisée et de standards de pose sont disponibles, le risque étant de perdre l’expertise locale en utilisant une méthode trop marginale.

Tableau comparatif des principaux revêtements pour toit plat

Ce tableau représente une vue d'ensemble, présentée à titre indicatif seulement. Une infinité de variables peuvent modifier les informations qui y sont contenues, à utiliser avec pondération et discernement.

TYPE DE REVÊTEMENTDURÉE DE VIE MOYENNE (1)COÛT ANNUEL (2)PRIX À L' ACHAT (2)ROBUSTESSE (3)VERSATILITÉ (4)RÉFLECTIVITÉ (5)ÉCOLOGIQUE (6)
Membrane TPObonnetrès économiquefaiblemoyennebonnetrès bonne goodtrès bon
Membrane élastomèrebonnemoyenélevérobustetrès bonne goodmoyennefaible
Membrane EPDMbonne (1)économiqueélevémoyennebonnebonnebon
Asphalte et gravierfaibleélevéfaibletrès robuste reliablemauvaisefaibletrès faible
Membrane PVCbonneéconomiquemoyenmoyennebonnetrès bonne goodfaible
  1. La durée de vie est non seulement basée sur la durabilité du matériau lui-même mais aussi sur ses jonctions, par exemple la membrane EPDM elle-même est très durable mais ses jonctions collées le sont souvent moins que d’autres systèmes..
  2. La classification du prix est basée sur une petite surface (moins de 200 mètres carrés ou 2000 pieds carrés). Au-delà, les systèmes attachés mécaniquement sont de plus en plus économiques et ce, même comparés aux systèmes lestés.
  3. La robustesse comprend la résistance au feu, aux chocs, aux perforations, à la déchirure et aux éléments naturels.
  4. La versatilité tient compte de la facilité de l’installation en toute circonstance et de la facilité de modification ou réparation.
  5. La réflectivité dépendra beaucoup de l’efficacité du revêtement à s’auto-nettoyer.
  6. Ce classement de la valeur écologique d’un système n’est pas seulement basé sur sa recyclabilité puisque certains matériaux sont recyclables mais non-recyclés, comme l’élastomère au Québec. La durabilité affecte grandement cette valeur mais aussi la quantité d’énergie requise dans le cycle de vie du matériau.